Thursday, July 20, 2017

Daily Zen - Thursday, July 20



How hollow and futile life can be
when it's founded on a false belief
in continuity and permanence.

~ Sogyal Rinpoche

Wednesday, July 19, 2017

Daily Zen - Wednesday, July 19



We can only be said to be alive
in those moments when our hearts 
are conscious of our treasures.

~ Thornton Wilder

Tuesday, July 18, 2017

Daily Zen - Tuesday, July 18



The trick is to enjoy life. 
Don't wish away your days,
waiting for better ones.

~ Marjorie Pay Hinckley

Monday, July 17, 2017

Daily Zen - Monday, July 17



I've never seen any life transformation that 
didn't begin with the person in question finally
getting tired of their own bullshit.

~ Elizabeth Gilbert 

Saturday, July 15, 2017

Weekend Zen, July 15-16


Throw everything away, forget about it all!
You are learning too much, remembering too much,
trying too hard...relax a little bit, 
give life a chance to flow its own way, 
unassisted by your mind and effort. 
Stop directing the river's flow.

~ Mooji

Friday, July 14, 2017

Daily Zen - Friday, July 14



That's when our understanding goes deeper, 
when we find that the present moment is a pretty vulnerable
place and that this can be completely unnerving
and completely tender at the same time.

~ Pema Chödrön

Thursday, July 13, 2017

Daily Zen - Thursday, July 13



It is better to wake up after all, even to suffer,
rather than to remain a dupe to illusions all one's life.

~ Kate Chopin

Wednesday, July 12, 2017

Tuesday, July 11, 2017

Daily Zen - Tuesday, July 11



Someday, somewhere — anywhere, unfailingly, 
you'll find yourself, and that, and only that, 
can be the happiest or bitterest hour of your life.

~ Pablo Neruda

Monday, July 10, 2017

Daily Zen - Monday, July 10



There can be no happiness 
if the things we believe in
are different than the things we do.

~ Albert Camus

Saturday, July 8, 2017

Weekend Zen, July 8-9


The art of living...is neither careless drifting
on the one hand nor fearful clinging to the past
on the other. It consists in being sensitive to 
each moment, in regarding it as utterly new and
unique, in having the mind open and wholly receptive.

~ Alan Watts

Thursday, July 6, 2017

Wednesday, July 5, 2017

Daily Zen - Wednesday, July 5



He who controls his mind 
and has cut off his desire and anger 
realizes the self.

~ Bhagavad Gita

Tuesday, July 4, 2017

Monday, July 3, 2017

Daily Zen - Monday, July 3


Gratitude is the inward feeling
 of kindness received.
Thankfulness is the natural impulse
 to express that feeling.

~ Henry van Dyke

Saturday, July 1, 2017

Friday, June 30, 2017

Daily Zen - Friday, June 30




The real question is not whether life exists after death.
The real question is whether you are alive before death.

~ Osho

Thursday, June 29, 2017

Daily Zen - Thursday, June 29



Awake. Be the witness of your thoughts.
You are what observes, not what you observe.

~ Buddha